Reflections on Good Friday April 10, 2020

A picture containing text

Description automatically generated

Page 96

I have just come out of a morning and early afternoon of reading, writing and reflection.

I always read books by starting at page 96. One day I’ll tell you the story to this. On today’s Good Friday I decided to pick up a few of the books in my spirituality religious bookshelf and just read page 96.

I turned the page 96 and read the words with an open mind reflecting on what they mean to me today on 10th April 2020. Here are my reflections and a summary of what on the p96 caught my attention.

Reflection

Jesus was a bit of a rebel. It came to me while I was running listening to the Gospel of John that he, at the very least, would be considered as a socially progressive individual if not a radical who challenge the norms of society of the day.

In reading the page 96 of the Koran it reminded me of what I have heard that there are some common beliefs given that the page had a focus on Adam (not Eve) and the temptation of the Garden of Eden.

In reading about John, the Baptist, the issues of the day are the context in which a period needs to be examined. The context of April 10, 2020 is clearly in the Covid – 19. As such any interpretation in the future of this era would need to understand the dramatic changes that impact upon us in the early months’ of 2020 nation the whole world.

On page 96 of the book on Catholicism reminded me of the chicken and egg argument concerning the role of science and technology and society. Is science and technology a cause of changes to faith and religion or is it responding in this case to faith and religion.

I’ve been told by friends with theological training with the Gospel of John is one of the hardest to read. I accepted this a challenge, and this was the Gospel I read on Good Friday 2020. Though I know the story quite well due to my catholic upbringing there were quotes that jumped out at me, helping me develop a little peace and perspective of what is happening in the world today.

Albert Nolan Jesus before Christianity 

Chapter headings good news and new time.

The God of Jesus was most unlike the God of most Christians worshiped.

The concept of kingdom would not have been possible without a totally new image of God.

Jesus was not aware of any image he had of God. As Jesus would have thought of that God had changed.

Then there was reference to the particle son. God has been moved by compassion and to do something new. The story is about what the father did not do – he showed compassion to his son.

Koran

Sura 7

A discussion about the garden of Eden and Adam-and Eve. What is hindering you from worship. Paradise is no place for pride. Adam but this tree approach not, less you become of the unjust doers.

On it you shall live on it you shall die and from it shall you’ll be taken forth.

Barbara Thiering Jesus the Man.

Page 96 is about John the Baptist. The setting was in Rome there was a marriage between a couple Herod and Herodias. She was attracted to a half-brother and married him. John denounce them for living in sin. The Tetrarch removes John the Baptist. Also, on page 96 was the Jewish financial scandal. He chose to leave his own country for breaking religious laws and set up and writers’ teacher. He played a part as an interpreter of mosaic law. He began to influence women of high status and they gave him gifts and money which did not make its way back to Jerusalem.

Fulvia went to Tiberius husband of one of the donors. He asked him to expel John the Baptist from Rome. These missionaries such as John were accused by association.

Page 96 also shows how John the Baptist overlapped with the reign of Pilate who was known known as the young lion in the period of wrath.

Under John two parties and merge the Hebrews with eastern views, strict views in mortality and did not accept Jesus. The Helenists were the other group. They focused on the old Testament allowed women in ministry and Jesus was acceptable.

Richard P McBrien. Catholicism.

On page 96 of these two-volume book the focus was on human existence and the human condition today. The world is rapidly changing with science and technology playing apart. Did science and technology developed in reaction to the church and its faith or developed because of the church in faith.

There is a unity of the human race. The church therefore need not be threatened by modernisation. Good night station has disclosed we cannot live an isolated life.

Vatican to is discuss and how it saw modernisation as a special opportunity and raise the question like what is man?

John’s Gospel

I read the first 4 chapters of Johns gospel. Then I went for a run and listen to chapters 5 to 17 then came home and read 18-21.

I found the reading and listening hard, but I just was open to what jumped out to my attention.

Somewhere on the run I heard a comment that Moses said I was coming and that your beloved him why don’t you believe me.

In 3:11 truly truly I say to you we speak of what we know and bear witness to what we have seen but you do not receive our testimony.

In John 20:29 Listen to those who have not seen, believe.

John 20:15-17 Feed my lambs. Tend my sheep. Feed my sheep.

John 7 There is an interesting statement about judgement which says judge righteous judgement.

John 5:43 I have come in my father’s name, and you did not receive me: if another comes in his own name, him you will receive.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.